About Me

My photo
Family and Friends is my everyday journal. Captain's Log is where I pontificate on religion and politics.

Wednesday, October 28, 2020


 Today it's how I decide what to read next.

1. There are certain authors where I've read everything they've written and I'm waiting for the next book in their series or they're starting a new series. Once Amazon alerts me that the book is available I'll gobble it up and devour it. There are only a few authors that I will buy the book, even if it's available on unlimited. These authors and their works I want to re-read. Tony Roberts, Mark Dawson, Berthold Gambrel, J. B. Turner, Joseph Badal, Hank Bruce, Leigh Bardugo come to mind right now.

2, Amazon's monthly pick two. They send an e-mail and there's a selection of books that I can choose two that are hot off the press or due to come out shortly. I don't have to return these. Some months I don't choose as the subject matter doesn't interest me. In historical fiction if its set in WW2, I pass. I'm not into young adult, mystery if its about a woman being stalked, I pass. Most of these books are written with female protagonists and it really has to catch my eye by cover or story line or I pass. If I do choose a book and I don't like it, I'm stuck with it in my kindle library as its a pain to delete it. I've found a few gems over the years.

3. When I'm trolling for a new book to read a catchy cover and I'll give it a try. 

4. Books that are mentioned often by different bloggers will catch my interest. I've enjoyed Leigh Bardugo's Six of Crows and her other books this way.

5. Facebook has an algorithm that knows my likes and while scrolling they put in ads for books that fit my tastes. I've chosen a number that perk my interest and discovered a few of the afore  mentioned authors that I gobble up all they put out. Some I get rid of after a few chapters.

6. Sometimes Amazon has a set of books, 5, 6 or up to ten books with unlimited or only 99cents. It only counts as one rental so I'll go for it. Like with Insects if the first book turns me off I send it back with my next pick. If I like the first one I'll usually read them all, but I'll read something else in-between so I don't get in a rut. 

7. Authors on WC and TTT. I'll buy a book or two and write a review on this blog and post it on Amazon. If they're like Berthold who writes a review of my books I'm more than willing to keep reading their work even if I have to pay.

8. Facebook friends. There are a few local authors like Paula Paul, Sarah H. Baker, Irene Blea, Jonathan Miller and David Corwell that I know from Writers2writers and Southwest Writers Workshop that I'll either buy their books or we'll trade.

22 comments:

Lydia said...

It sounds like you have a lot of good ways to find new reading material! That's great.

P M Prescott said...

Being retired I have a lot of time to read, so I need one. Thanks for coming by Lydia.

Sydney Winward said...

I don't ever get Facebook ads for books, despite how often I look at books on the internet. I'll see if I can update my ad preferences. Then again, I'll be very tempted to buy all of them...

Wendi Zwaduk and Megan Slayer said...

You have a great system. Cool!

Judy said...

Thanks for coming by... and you do have an excellent system. My reading time these days is, unfortunately, mostly just a few minutes before bedtime, but I look forward to the day when I can get my house picked up and read all day if I want to!

Mary Morgan said...

Yours sounds like a good system, Patrick. My best resource is from friends and family. I love hearing them describe a good read. Thanks for sharing!

P M Prescott said...

Sidney, it is sometimes. They all look appealing.

P M Prescott said...

Thanks, Megan. Nice of you come by.

Michael Mock said...

I get a lot of recommendation from things like these blog threads and following a lot of authors on Twitter, so this seems comfortably familiar. Deciding what to read next, though... isn't always so easy.

P M Prescott said...

Judy, at least you make the time.

P M Prescott said...

Friends and family are always a good source, Mary.

P M Prescott said...

Michael, after you've read a good book and are coming back to reality and it can be a challenge to pick up another book.

Tena Stetler said...

Great System. I too exchange with other authors that I think I will like. Thanks for sharing. Here's mine. https://www.tenastetler.com/how-i-decide-what-to-read-next-lsrs-wednesday-blogging-challenge/

P M Prescott said...

Good to know, Tena.

Berthold Gambrel said...

Honored to be included on the list. Thank you.

P M Prescott said...

You're welcome, Berthold.

Echo Ishii said...

I do check out Amazon alert, but haven't really checked their suggestions.
I find books from bloggers too.

P M Prescott said...

Nice to know, Echo. Thanks for coming by.

Tanith Davenport said...

I also follow particular authors on Amazon - I like to keep up with new releases.

P M Prescott said...

Nice to know, Tanith.

Birdie Song said...

That's an excellent system you've got there. So many ways to find new books!

P M Prescott said...

Birdsong, it keeps me busy.